Belated Thanksgiving Special: Making a pecan pie!

Well, school’s been eating me alive. Trying to work my transfer out, studying for finals, and keeping up on my projects has kind of gotten me out of the rhythm of updating. I’m trying to be good now, I swear. Later this evening, I’m going to post my new bento gear (donated by a very, very kind reader, whose blog you should definitely check out) but I need to get some good photos first.

Welp, I made myself some pies over Thanksgiving break. After the first one turned out pretty good, I decided to make some more. Couldn’t hurt, right? Well, as you’ll see, the pies came with a lesson. That lesson is that I should never, ever listen to my mother’s bullshit cooking advice.

“That last pie was too juicy. Just put the filling in two shells and make TWO pies. :D”

As faulty as the logic sounds, I decided to roll with it in case it worked out. Never again.

Enough regret. Let’s look back to a happier time, when I was starting my pie.

Pecan pie ingredientsHere are my ingredients and workspace. Not pictured are the nuts, which are toasting in the oven behind me.

To make this pie, you will need:

  • Light corn syrup: 1 cup
  • Brown sugar: 1 cup
  • Eggs: 3
  • Butter: 1/3 cup
  • Pecans: 2 cups, toasted

100_6894.jpg
Guest appearance by my little brother’s hand, and some meat.

100_6901.jpg

Mix the butter (MELTED), sugar, syrup, and eggs in a big ol’ bowl, until combined.

100_6904.jpg
Roughly chop about 1 3/4 cups of your toasted nuts, and add them to the mixture.

100_6907.jpg
Pour the mixture into A SINGLE PIE SHELL. DO NOT MAKE MY MISTAKE.

Bake at 350 for about an hour.

100_6913.jpg
In my case, say the word “Fuck” a lot and vow never to listen to your mother’s advice again. You, though. You have a single, tasty pie.

Bastards.

5 Comments

  1. Ackkk! I don’t bake but I can see that is not a good pie right there. Or I’ll take your word for it. But sheesh, that sounds like a really simple recipe, something even I could do! Could I? Hmm. Do I know anyone who likes pecan pie (to give it to because I don’t eat it)? Hmmmm…. thanks for the recipe! and the link :)

  2. I applaud you for trying this rather simple recipe. My grandmother makes a pecan pie that is to die for. However, whenever I make it, no one is willing to die for it. I honestly think it looks simpler than it really is. Quality ingredients also have a lot to with the outcome.

    Two tips:
    1. Add a teaspoon of rum. It takes it to the next level. In fact a pecan pie without the pecans and some bourbon added is known as a Bourbon pie, according to the Joy of Cooking.
    2. Don’t use salted pecans. I made it for Thanksgiving using salted pecans because that is all I could find and everyone commented how salty it was.

  3. Good advice! Awesome story of pie woe.

  4. That really sucks. Kinda like the time I bought T=fal cookware ’cause my Mom said they were “really good”. My Mom doesn’t cook. I’m an idiot.

  5. oh, gosh–that pie RECIPE sounds amazing. i LOVE pecan pie! sorry your mother screwed you over. my mom knows what she’s doing in the kitchen, so if you need any help (online help, of course)… ; )


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.