What’s this? Meat? For Truly?

Yes, today I had meat for my bento. Not just any meat, but angus steak. My dad reserved just a tiny bit of it from his supper last night (hooray for discount sales!) and let me use it for my lunch.

Double shot of July 25th bento

 

Screw dessert, that’s my treat for eating everything else! Ah, but what does everything else include?

  • -Cabbage pancakes
    -Lots of romaine lettuce and carrots
    -Maki rolls with egg
    -Onigiri with nori

The funny thing about the two onigiri I took to lunch today was the… unusual property of the second onigiri. The first onigiri, the one you can see clearly in the photo, was perfect. Fall-apart-in-your-mouth, tasty, and just a little salty. All was well until I got to the second onigiri.

It had become rubberized. I’m not sure if I squeezed it to hard, or if it was too heavily seasoned, or if some crazy secondary cooking happened in the heat of the day, but it had become a chew toy. Disgusted and disappointed, I cast it out, aiming for a nearby park garbage bin. What I witnessed next was nothing short of comedy gold.

Because I had thrown with my left arm, (read: my dumb arm) the onigiri did no make it to the garbage bin. Instead, it fell short, and to my sheer confusion, rolled away. Not only had my onigiri become rubbery and stale in less than three hours, but it’s fossilization was complete enough to allow it to roll away like some comically misshapen wheel.

More photos behind the cut. Or more tag. Whatever you call a cut on WP.

My bento gear, complete with fricked up watermark!

My bento gear – some of it – with a messed up watermark that inspired me to simply create a separate PSD document to paste into my photos. The awesome blue/grey lunch bag is a recent gift from my mother, and the shite-tied furoshiki is one of my less-than-a-dollar finds.

Bottom of the July 25th bento

Bottom tier of today’s bento.

Top tier of July 25th bento

And the top! Also: OMG THE MEEEEEEEEEATS

1 Comment

  1. oh my god. XD That. The amazing onigiri wheel. Mental image!

    Well, on the upside, the mofo didn’t BOUNCE.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

