I will make for you a quiche

Image of said quiche (and future bento) coming in the near future, when I somehow fix my camera. 😐

At times, I find myself having unusual internal dialogs about food. “Huh. No meat for dinner tonight.” “Eggs gots protiens in ’em.” “What’re we gonna make with eggs?” “Quiche gots eggs in it.” “I don’t know how to make a quiche.” “It’s got cheese or something in it and eggs and vegetables god just do it. :|” “Fine. :|”

So I did it. Having never assembled a quiche before and being without the internet for a few hours, I decided to try my hand at a freestyle quiche. Oddly enough, it was not only edible, but rather tasty.

Sennet’s Ozark-Engineered Spinach Quiche

You will need to procure from your foodstores:
1/2 cup cottage cheese
1 tablespoon plain yogurt
1 tablespoon milk
1 9-inch pie shell of your choosing
3 eggs (I used large brown, but whatev, I think)
Some spinach (however much you like) chopped up good
A large cooking dish with high walls
Some water
An oven

First, preheat the oven to 350 and blind bake your crust.  While your crust is doing its thing, whoop together the eggs and milk in a bowl. Nothing complicated thusfar.

Once your crust is all baked (though not poofy, I hope) spread the yogurt and cottage cheese around in the bottom. It doesn’t have to be a thick layer, and you can add more if you like. I don’t like. Anyways, when your goopy yogucheese base is in there, it’s time for the spinach. Just spread it around similarly, then pour the egg mixture over it.

Now that your quiche is assembled, it will need to be baked. To bake your quiche, fill your baking dish about a third of the way with water. Now, find a way to suspend your quiche over the water without submerging it. Once you’ve done that, shove the whole silly thing into the oven for about forty minutes. To test for done… ness, just tap the center with a spoon. If it wobbles, it’s probably not done. If it’s firm and a little springy, remove your quiche.

And don’t scald yourself.

Don’t.

I know.

3 Comments

  1. I always scald myself when I bake. :/ The quiche sounds yummy!! I’ll give it a try one of these days!

  2. Sounds tasty, but why ‘Ozark-Engineered’? May I assume you’re from the area?

  3. you’re funny! who knew?
    but yogurt in a quiche? blech.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

